June 7, 2018

We had a great time on Sunday initiating our incoming 7th graders (Noah, AJ, Aidan, Sam, Sam, Thomas, Andy and Owen) into youth group!  Thanks to all who participated.

And welcome, parents of incoming 7th graders, to our weekly youth email.  Each week, you will receive a weekly email with updates, news and photos from past events.  You also may want to follow our Some Cool Youth facebook page for even more youth photos:  Youth Photos on Facebook

S U M M E R   C A L E N D A R  :

JUNE:

Wednesday, June 13 - Friday, June 15: (6-7:30 p.m.) Youth are invited to be counselors at Camp Wasatch, helping lead the young kids in activities and fun.  Contact Hilary at hlambert@wpcslc.org if your youth can help!

June or July date TBD: Service project: washing Wasatch Pres. member, Viette Olson’s, windows.

Friday, June 22: (9 a.m. - 1 p.m.) Service project: Painting fence for Cottonwood High & lunch.

Overnight camp-out for youth at Affleck Park.  Families are invited to join us around the camp fire for the evening before heading home and leaving their youth to rough it in a tent.  The dates were set for Friday, June 29 - Saturday, June 30, but these dates are going to change due to parent feedback.  Not a lot of kids are around that night.  I am thinking of Saturday, July 28 to Sunday, July 29 instead.  Let me know if your youth would be available.  I have to reserve the campground.

JULY:

July date TBD: We will plan an evening to create Youth T-Shirts. 

Tuesday, July 3: All church BBQ

Saturday, July 14: (9 a.m. - 1 p.m.) Service Project at the Food Bank & lunch after.

July 25-20: Jr High Camp

Saturday, July 21: (1-5 p.m.) Swimming Activity

July 22-27: High School Camp

Sunday, July 29: Lunch after Church

Monday evening, July 30: Youth Families Activity - Bees Game

AUGUST:

Friday, August 3: (3-5 p.m.) Service Project: Help set up for Sudanese Rummage Sale &
(5-7 p.m.) Packing Party (for youth trip) & Pizza.

Sunday, August 5 - Saturday, August 11: Youth Mission & Rafting Trip

Saturday, August 18: (5-7 p.m.)  Youth prepare for leading entire Worship Service

Sunday, August 19:  (10 a.m.) Youth lead entire Worship Service with reflections from youth trip

P A R E N T     O F F E R I N G S :

Tuesday, June 12: (8 p.m.) Dads' Night Out at Sugarhouse Pub.  Contact Ethan at kiburtz@msn.com or just show up!

Friday, June 22: (7-9 p.m.) Moms' Book Club at Dawn's House.
This month's book is Redfield Farm by Judith Coopey.  Bring a bottle of wine to share.

I hope your youth will participate in many of our summer activities.  I am always happy to coordinate rides for your youth when they need them.

Let me know if you have questions!

Dawn